The Woman Who Cloned Her Booger


Please don’t think I’m weird, but when I was a kid I used to collect my cats whiskers in hopes that I could one day clone her – and I still have them!  And, after hearing about this story, I know that I may actually be able to do it if I wanted to. That is, after I win the lottery.  A South Korean team of scientists at the firm RNL Bio have successfully cloned the beloved service dog of screenwriter Bernann McKinney and now she has 5 puppies that are exactly like her pitbull, Booger, who died in 2006 of cancer. McKinney sold her home so she could pony up the $50,000 for the procedure.

The former university teacher says she plans to open a service dog training school where she’ll train Booger’s clones and other dogs. That’s the good thing. The bad thing? Besides seeming a little weird, McKinney said on the Today show this morning that she’s definitely in the market to sell the rights to her story, so it can be turned into a movie. Well, I guess you can’t blame her, the cloning was expensive. But her eagerness to make money off of this makes me suspicious. 

Watch here as she hams it up for cameras in South Korea…

August 7, 2008. Tags: , , , , . Animals.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

